SACC 112th AGM followed by Networking, Sydney 31 Oct

The Swedish Australian Chamber of Commerce 112th AGM took place on 31 October in Sydney at the Business Sweden office.

The AGM was held in person with a link available for members who were unable to join in person. 

Jan Gardberg, President of the SACC, opened the meeting and welcomed all. A special welcome was made to His Excellency, Mr Pontus Melander Ambassador of Sweden to Australia. Jan then proceeded with the president’s report highlighting that the past year had been another eventful year and that we have a lot to recognize and to celebrate. There were many remarkable achievements, close cooperation, and success.

His Excellency Pontus Melander, Ambassador of Sweden to Australia shared a few words reflecting on his first year here in Australia.

Camilla Jennings, General Manger SACC, presented a summary of year including presentation of Honorary Board Members, Chapter Board Members and the Young Professional Board, national events and activities for SACC in 2023 as well as a teaser of what’s to come in 2024.

Jan Gardberg presented the focus and progress for 2023. He then expressed gratitude by saying: “It is amazing to see the quantity and quality of all the committee work, something we all can feel proud of. It is a testament of great collaboration across many people and companies. There are so many fantastic members that have volunteered and invested time to make it happen. Fantastic work, well done!”

Kristina Melin, Treasurer, presented her Treasury report which was distributed prior to the AGM. Another successful year has passed and the membership income Membership income for financial year 2022/23 was similar compared to 2021/22.

Board members were discharged of responsibility for the passed financial year and the new board were elected as follows.


President – Jan Gardberg, New Retail Business Development Manager, INGKA Group IKEA

Vice President – Teresia Fors, Commercial Director NatRoad Australia

Vice President & Secretary – Mikael Dahlgren, CFO Treotham Automation

Treasurer – Kristina Melin, Sales and Commercial Logistic & Planning Manager, Volvo Group Australia

Membership Committee Chair – Anders Mangen, former SKF

Marketing & Events Chair – Isabel Wagner, Cluster Communications Manager, Alfa Laval (South East Asia & Oceania)

Sustainability Committee Representative – Carin Varverud Härdin, Vice President Brand, Marketing & Communications Volvo Group Australia

Corporate Affairs and Collaboration – Australia – Penny George, Director of Corporate Affairs, AstraZeneca

Collaboration – Sweden – Carl Wallberg, Head of Digital & CX, Electrolux

Permanent Attendees:

SACC General Manager – Camilla Jennings

Chapter Chairs – VIC John Rieusset, WA Joseph Olsson/Pia Nilsson, QLD Teresia Fors

YP Chair – Henric Nordenborg